NC Tomorrow

Please visit our Trainings and Workshops page and the Guidelines and Applications page for more information.

North Carolina Tomorrow is a one-time pilot program in 2011 to spur regional planning for viable sustainable communities throughout North Carolina, assisting the NC Department of Commerce in establishing a baseline for today with a focus tomorrow. As a branch of the NC Catalyst program, the NC Tomorrow planning initiative will center on the six livability principles established by the federal Partnership for Sustainable Communities of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), Department of transportation (DOT), and Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). The six livability principles are: 

  • Provide more transportation choices
  • Promote equitable, affordable housing
  • Enhance economic competitiveness
  • Support existing communities
  • Coordinate and leverage federal policies and investment
  • Value communities and neighborhoods

The NC Tomorrow Program will provide planning grants to as many as 17 non-entitlement local governments serving as the lead regional coordinator within each of the 17 Council of Governments (COGs) regions. In exchange for the grant, the non-entitlement local unit of government must foster regional multi-jurisdictional participation around the program goals and develop a Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS) to eventually be part of a statewide plan.

The recipients of the 2011 NC Tomorrow program are: the Town of Aurora and Avery, Bladen, Catawba, Greene, Hyde, Jackson, Lincoln, Madison, Montgomery, Orange, Pender, Polk, Sampson, Surry, Vance, and Wilson counties.

For more information contact:
Iris C. Payne
Programs and Compliance Section Chief
(919) 571-4900 ext. 249  

end of section