Urban Development Services

The N.C. Main Street Center serves as the state's leading resource in downtown revitalization.  All communities, regardless of population, in North Carolina that are concerned with improving their downtown districts may receive assistance through the Office of Urban Development.  The office can provide valuable information and resources that your community may find useful in your downtown development initiatives.

Contacts

Darren Rhodes, CPM
Rural Planning Program Administrator
Community Economic Development Planner

450 West Hanes Mill Road, Suite 101, Winston-Salem, NC 27106
Email:  drhodes@nccommerce.com
Phone: (336) 776-6727   

Lee Padrick
Northeast Region
Community Economic Development Planner

214 West Third Street, Washington, NC  27889
Email: lpadrick@nccommerce.com 
Phone: (252) 974-1308

Donald R. Belk, AICP
North Central Region
Community Economic Development Planner

490 Ward Boulevard, Wilson, NC  27895
Email: don.belk@nccommerce.com
Phone: (252) 822-1859

Glen Locascio
Northwest Region
Community Economic Development Planner

31 College Place, Bldg B, Room 108, Asheville, NC 28801
Email: glocascio@nccommerce.com 
Phone: (828) 251-6914

Mark Sutherland, MSS
Southeast Region
Community Economic Development Planner
1099 Gum Branch Road
Jacksonville, NC  28540
Email: mark.sutherland@nccommerce.com    
Phone: (910) 758-5539

Mark Zeigler, AICP
Southeast Region
Community Economic Development Planner
127 Cardinal Drive Extension, Wilmington, NC  28405
Email: mzeigler@nccommerce.com                
Phone: (910) 796-7268

Karen Smith, AICP, Chief Planner
Southwest Region
Community Economic Development Planner

31 College Place, Bldg B, Room 108, Asheville, NC 28801
Email: ksmith@nccommerce.com
Phone: 828 251 6914 office

Ann Bass
Western Region 
ARC Community Development Planner

253 Webster Road, Sylva, NC 28779
Email: ann.bass@nccommerce.com 
Phone: (828) 508-0107

Will Best
Sandhills (South Central) Region
Community Economic Development Planner
4346 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-4346
Email: wbest@nccommerce.com
Phone: (919) 814-4676



In addition, all communities are eligible to

end of section