Rural Planning Program

The State of North Carolina is divided into eight Prosperity Zones. Each Zone has a one-stop location to provide citizens and businesses with the ability to interact with multiple state agencies and to encourage collaboration between agencies

The NC Main Street & Rural Planning Center works in the eight Prosperity Zones and in designated NC Main Street communities, to inspire placemaking through building asset-based economic development strategies that achieve results such as investment, business growth, and jobs.

Prosperity Zone Map

Rural Planning Staff Contacts

Darren Rhodes, CPM
Piedmont/Triad Prosperity Zone
Rural Planning Program Administrator
Community Economic Development Planner
450 West Hanes Mill Road, Suite 101, Winston-Salem, NC 27106
Office: (336) 776-6727
Cell: (336) 618-5117  

Bruce Naegelen
North Central Prosperity Zone
Community Economic Development Planner
8998 US 70 Hwy Business West, Suite 100, Clayton, NC 27520
Cell: (252) 822-1859

Lee Padrick
Northeast Prosperity Zone
Community Economic Development Planner
105 Pactolus Hwy, Greenville, NC 27835
Cell: (252) 565-2060

Mark Sutherland, MSS
Southeast Prosperity Zone
Community Economic Development Planner
1099 Gum Branch Road
Jacksonville, NC  28540
Cell: (910) 758-5539

Sandhills (South Central) Prosperity Zone
Community Economic Development Planner

Jeff Emory
Southwest Prosperity Zone
Community Economic Development Planner
615 Concord Road, Albemarle, NC 28001
Office:  (704) 983-4384
Cell:  (704) 984-3666

Ann Bass

Western Prosperity Zone
ARC Community Development Planner
253 Webster Road, Sylva, NC 28779
Cell: (828) 508-0107

Wesley M. Barker

Northwest Prosperity Zone
ARC Community Development Planner
801 Statesville Road, North Wilkesboro NC 28659
Cell: (336) 907-0284 

Glen Locascio
GIS Specialist

48 Grove Street, Asheville, NC 28801
Office: (828) 251-6200

Will Best
GIS Specialist &  

JLUS Project Manager


4346 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-4346
Office: (919) 814-4676    

Mark Zeigler, AICP
Community Economic Development Planner
127 Cardinal Drive Extension, Wilmington, NC  28405
Office: (910) 796-7268
Cell:  (910) 632-4011

Karen Smith, AICP,
Chief Planner
48 Grove Street, Asheville, NC 28801
Office: (828) 251-6200 ext. 239
Cell: (828) 747-1585

In addition, all communities are eligible to

For a Complete list of the State of North Carolina Prosperity Zone Contacts

end of section