Rural Planning Program

The State of North Carolina is divided into eight Prosperity Zones. Each Zone has a one-stop location to provide citizens and businesses with the ability to interact with multiple state agencies and to encourage collaboration between agencies

The NC Main Street & Rural Planning Center works in the eight Prosperity Zones and in designated NC Main Street communities, to inspire placemaking through building asset-based economic development strategies that achieve results such as investment, business growth, and jobs.

Prosperity Zone Map

Rural Planning Staff Contacts

Darren Rhodes, CPM
Rural Planning Program Administrator
Community Economic Development Planner, Piedmont-Triad Prosperity Zone
450 West Hanes Mill Road, Suite 101, Winston-Salem, NC 27106
Office: (336) 776-6727
Cell:      (336) 618-5117

Karen Smith, AICP
Coordinator, Rural Solutions
48 Grove Street, Asheville, NC 28801
Office:  (828) 251-6200
Cell:      (828) 747-1585

Bruce Naegelen
Community Economic Development PlannerNorth Central Prosperity Zone
8998 US 70 Hwy Business West, Suite 100, Clayton, NC 27520
Cell:      (984) 365-0279

Lee Padrick
Chief Planner

Community Economic Development Planner, Northeast Prosperity Zone
105 Pactolus Hwy. (NC 33), Greenville, NC 27835
Cell:      (252) 565-2060

Mark Sutherland, MSS
Community Economic Development Planner, Southeast Prosperity Zone

1099 Gum Branch Road, Jacksonville, NC 28540
Email:   mark.sutherland@nccommerce.comCell:      (910) 758-5539 

Grace Lawrence
Community Economic Development Planner, Sandhills Prosperity Zone

NCWorks Career Center, 414 Ray Avenue, Fayetteville, NC 28301
Cell:      (910) 391-1298

Jeff Emory
Community Economic Development Planner, Southwest Prosperity Zone

615 Concord Road, Albemarle, NC 28001
Office:  (704) 983-4384
Cell:      (704) 984-3666

Ann Bass
ARC Community Economic Development Planner, Western Prosperity Zone

253 Webster Road, Sylva, NC 28779
Cell:      (828) 508-0107

Wesley Barker
ARC Community Economic Development Planner, Northwest Prosperity Zone

801 Statesville Road, North Wilkesboro, NC 28659
Cell:      (336) 907-0284

Will Best
Coordinator, Special Projects

4346 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-4346
Office:  (919) 814-4676

Glen Locascio
GIS Specialist

48 Grove Street, Asheville, NC 28801
Office:  (828) 251-6200

Mark Zeigler, AICP
Community Economic Development Planner

127 Cardinal Drive Extension, Wilmington, NC 28405
Office:  (910) 796-7268
Cell:      (910) 632-4011

In addition, all communities are eligible to

For a complete list of the State of North Carolina Prosperity Zone Contacts

end of section