NC Commerce

Labor and Economic Analysis Division, Department of Commerce

(919) 707-1500 Location Parking

Prosperity Zone Data Books

2016 North Carolina Statewide Prosperity Zones Data Book (PDF)

North Carolina created eight new geographic zones in 2014 to enhance customer service and improve efficiency between governmental agencies at a regional level. These Prosperity Zones each contain between 10 and 17 counties and vary in population from half a million to more than 2 million. Two of the zones — Southwest and North Central — are heavily influenced by the presence of the state’s two largest cities, Charlotte and Raleigh. Other zones contain a mixture of metropolitan (greater than 50,000 residents) and micropolitan (10,000 to 50,000 residents) as well as rural areas. Although each zone is presented as a single unit in the data that follows, it is important to remember there is a great deal of variation within each zone.

end of section

TabID: 4327