Board Members



  • A Blanton Godfrey, Distinguished University Professor, College of Textiles, NC State University

Members Appointed by the Governor

  • Jason Botts, Vice President, Information Technology, Chiltern International
  • Suresh Chandra, Professor Emeritus & Former Dean, College of Engineering, NC A&T State University
  • Matt Cimino, CEO, Exit Intel
  • Judith Cone, Vice Chancellor for Innovation, Entrepreneurship & Economic Development, UNC-Chapel Hill
  • Chris Estes, Director, PricewaterhouseCoopers
  • Algie Gatewood, President, Alamance Community College
  • H. Christian Hölljes, Professor, Innovation + Design, NC State University
  • Bruce KingAssociate Provost for Research, Wake Forest University
  • Daryush Ila, Associate Vice Chancellor for Research, Technology Transfer Officer, & Radiation Safety Officer, Fayetteville State University
  • Keenan Locklear, Science Teacher, Public Schools of Robeson County
  • Mike McBriertySenior Manager, State Public Policy & Government Affairs, Biogen
  • Mark McNeilly, Professor of the Practice, UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School, UNC-Chapel Hill
  • Robert A Millet, Director of Clinical Research, Carolina Behavioral Care
  • Mitch Mumma, Managing General Partner, Intersouth Partners
  • Matt V. Phillips, President, Zylera Pharma Corp
  • Alan Rebar, Vice Chancellor for Research, Innovation and Economic Development, NC State University
  • Michelle Smith-Hylton, Engineering Consultant, Aerospace and Aviation
  • Ron Tessitore, Senior Vice President of Engineering, Qualcomm (Retired)
  • Donald Thompson, CEO, Creative Allies; Executive Chairman, O3 Creative
  • Eric TooneVice Provost and Director, Innovation & Entrepreneurship Initiative, Duke University
  • Robert Wilhelm, Vice Chancellor, Research and Economic Development; Executive Director, Charlotte Research Institute, UNC Charlotte

Member Appointed by the Speaker, North Carolina House of Representatives

Member Appointed by the President Pro Tempore, North Carolina Senate

  • Sam Houston, President & CEO, NC Science, Mathematics, and Technology (SMT) Education Center

end of section