Rural Planning Program

The NC Main Street & Rural Planning Center works in regions, counties, cities, towns, downtown districts and in designated NC Main Street communities, to inspire placemaking through building asset-based economic development strategies that achieve results such as investment, business growth, and jobs.

Prosperity Zone Map


Rural Planning Staff Contacts

Darren Rhodes, CPM
Rural Planning Program Administrator
Piedmont/Triad Prosperity Zone
Community Economic Development Planner

450 West Hanes Mill Road, Suite 101, Winston-Salem, NC 27106
Email:  drhodes@nccommerce.com
Phone: (336) 776-6727   

Lee Padrick
Northeast Prosperity Zone
Community Economic Development Planner

214 West Third Street, Washington, NC  27889
Email: lpadrick@nccommerce.com 
Phone: (252) 974-1308

Donald R. Belk, AICP
North Central Prosperity Zone
Community Economic Development Planner

490 Ward Boulevard, Wilson, NC  27895
Email: don.belk@nccommerce.com
Phone: (252) 822-1859

Mark Sutherland, MSS
Southeast Prosperity Zone
Community Economic Development Planner
1099 Gum Branch Road
Jacksonville, NC  28540
Email: mark.sutherland@nccommerce.com    
Phone: (910) 758-5539

Jeff Emory
Southwest Prosperity Zone
Community Economic Development Planner
615 Concord Road, Albermarle, NC 28001
Email: jeff.emory@nccommerce.com
Phone:  (704) 984-3666

Ann Bass
Western Prosperity Zone
ARC Community Development Planner

253 Webster Road, Sylva, NC 28779
Email: ann.bass@nccommerce.com 
Phone: (828) 508-0107

Bruce Naegelen
Sandhills (South Central) Prosperity Zone
Community Economic Development Planner
558 Gillespie Street, Fayetteville NC 28301
Email: bruce.naegelen@nccommerce.com
Phone: (910) 391-1298

Wesley M. Barker
Northwest Region 
ARC Community Development Planner

801 Statesville Road, North Wilkesboro NC 28659
Email:  wesley.barker@nccommerce.com 
Phone: (336) 907-0284 

Glen Locascio
Community Economic Development Planner

31 College Place, Bldg B, Room 108, Asheville, NC 28801
Email: glocascio@nccommerce.com 
Phone: (828) 251-6914

Mark Zeigler, AICP
Community Economic Development Planner
127 Cardinal Drive Extension, Wilmington, NC  28405
Email: mzeigler@nccommerce.com                
Phone: (910) 796-7268

Karen Smith, AICP, Chief Planner
Community Economic Development Planner

31 College Place, Bldg B, Room 108, Asheville, NC 28801
Email: ksmith@nccommerce.com
Phone: (828) 251-6914 office

In addition, all communities are eligible to

end of section