Since 2003, the N.C. Main Street Center has selected new communities and there are currently 26 designated Small Town Main Street towns and cities across the state. 

  • 2013 - Belhaven, Hayesville, Marshville, Mayodan, Robersonville, Valdese**
  • 2012 - Cherryville**, Elizabethtown**, Richlands, Saluda, Spencer*
  • 2011 - Bessemer City**, Lillington, Pittsboro, Troutman, Warrenton
  • 2010 - Catawba*, Highlands*, Murfreesboro*, Plymouth, Scotland Neck, Troy***
  • 2009 - La Grange, Liberty*, Robbins*, Selma*, Waxhaw**, Wilkesboro
  • 2008 - Benson**, Burnsville*, Granite Falls, Hamlet*, Maxton*, Roseboro
  • 2007 - Angier, Badin, Burgaw*, Tryon**, West Jefferson, Windsor*
  • 2006 - Ayden**, Fairmont, Mount Gilead
  • 2005 - Walnut Cove
  • 2004 - Spring Hope, Zebulon*
  • 2003 - Chadbourn*, Mount Olive, Weldon, Williamston**

* Inactive
**Moved to Main Street status in 2015
***Moved to Main Street status in 2016

View a map showing the Small Town Main Street communities.

NC Main Street is a Main Street America™ Coordinating Program. 

As a Main Street America™ Coordinating Program, NC Main Street helps to lead a powerful, grassroots network consisting of over 40 Coordinating Programs and over 1,200 neighborhoods and communities across the country committed to creating high-quality places and to building stronger communities through preservation-based economic development.

National Trust for Historic Preservation,® Main Street® and Four-Point Approach® are registered trademarks of the National Trust for Historic Preservation.

end of section