Small Town Main Street Program

The Small Town Main Street program addresses the growing number of small, rural towns that need downtown development assistance but are not likely, due to size or resource limitations, to pursue the regular Main Street program. Selected communities receive on-site technical assistance from the Small Town Main Street staff including:

  • Organizational development
  • Market analysis
  • Business assistance
  • Promotions
  • Design

While we will no longer take new communities into the Small Town Main Street Program, we have 30 active Small Town Main Street communities.

For additional information on the Small Town Main Street program, contact:

    • Liz Parham, CMSM, Director, NC Main Street Center
      4346 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-4346
      Telephone: (919) 814-4658

NC Main Street & Small Town Main Street Program - Designation Years
DAC program Acceptance Years

2017: Aberdeen, Asheboro (DAC), Dunn (DAC), Henderson (DAC)
2016: Troy
2015: Ayden, Benson, Bessemer City, Cherryville, Elizabethtown, Tryon, Valdese, Waxhaw, Williamston, Elon (DAC), Laurinburg (DAC)
2013: Belhaven (STMS), Hayesville (STMS), Marshville (STMS), Mayodan (STMS), Robersonville (STMS)
2012: Richlands (STMS), Saluda (STMS)
2011: Lillington (STMS), Pittsboro (STMS), Troutman (STMS), Warrenton (STMS)
2010: Plymouth (STMS), Scotland Neck (STMS)
2009: Garner, Kings Mountain, Roanoke Rapids, LaGrange (STMS), Wilkesboro (STMS)
2008: Angier (STMS), West Jefferson (STMS), Granite Falls (STMS), Roseboro (STMS)
2006: Clayton, Fuquay-Varina, Hickory, Wake Forest, Fairmont (STMS), Mount Gilead (STMS)
2005: Walnut Cove (STMS)
2004: Spring Home (STMS)
2003: Eden, Edenton, Forest City, Marion, Mount Olive (STMS)
2000: Belmont, Hertford, North Wilkesboro, Morehead City
1998: Elkin, Oxford, Monroe, Sparta,
1995: Lincolnton, Roxboro, Sylva
1993: Albemarle, Boone, Brevard, Lexington
1991: Mocksville, Spruce Pine
1990: Concord, Newton, Rutherfordton
1988: Burlington, Elizabeth City, Lumberton, Mooresville, Mount Airy
1986: Hendersonville, Kinston, Smithfield, Waynesville
1984: Goldsboro, Lenoir, Reidsville, Sanford
1982: Clinton, Morganton, Statesville, Rocky Mount, Wilson
1980: New Bern, Salisbury, Shelby, Tarboro, Washington


      NC Main Street is a Main Street America™ Coordinating Program.

      As a Main Street America™ Coordinating Program, NC Main Street helps to lead a powerful, grassroots network consisting of over 40 Coordinating Programs and over 1,200 neighborhoods and communities across the country committed to creating high-quality places and to building stronger communities through preservation-based economic development.

      National Trust for Historic Preservation,® Main Street® and Four-Point Approach® are registered trademarks of the National Trust for Historic Preservation.

      end of section