NC Main Street Communities & Designations

Receiving Main Street America status is a prestigious designation. While every local "affiliate" Main Street program can work toward accreditation, not every Main Street program receives it. Each year NC Main Street program participants submit documentation of their work to the NC Main Street Center staff.   After careful review the NC Main Street & Rural Planning Center Director submits a list of eligible programs to the National Main Street Center. The National Main Street Center reviews each state's recommendation and then releases the names of programs that have met the requirements for a "accredited" status.  

The Main Street America accreditation process evaluates local Main Street programs according to 10 performance standards and provides national recognition to those that meet these standards. Main Street coordinating programs evaluate their local programs each year and submit their eligible programs to the National Main Street Center. We annually release our list of accredited programs. To learn more about the national accreditation process, click here.

2017 NC Main Street Accredited Programs

1. Belmont
2. Boone
3. Brevard
4. Cherryville
5. Clinton
6. Concord  
7. Eden
8. Edenton
9. Elkin
10. Garner
11. Goldsboro 12. Hendersonville 13. Hickory 14. Kings Mountain 15. Lenoir 16. Lexington 17. Lumberton 18. Marion 19. Monroe 20. Morganton
21. North Wilkesboro
22. Rocky Mount
23. Roanoke Rapids
24. Roxboro
25. Rutherfordton
26. Salisbury
27. Sanford
28. Shelby
29. Smithfield
30. Spruce Pine
31. Statesville
32. Sylva
33. Troy
34. Tryon
35. Valdese
36. Wake Forest
37. Waxhaw
38. Waynesville
39. Williamston
40. Wilson

Main Street America™ Affiliates are programs that have demonstrated a commitment to achieving meaningful economic, social, physical, and organizational improvements in downtowns or neighborhood commercial districts. These are organizations that have committed to comprehensive revitalization and undertake ongoing efforts to achieve meaningful community outcomes.

2017 NC Main Street Affiliate Programs

1. Aberdeen
2. Albermarle
3. Ayden
4. Benson
5. Bessemer City
6. Burlington
7. Clayton
8. Elizabeth City
9. Elizabethtown
10. Forest City
11. Fuquay-Varina
12. Hertford
13. Kinston
14. Lincolnton
15. Mocksville
16. Mooresville
17. Morehead City
18. Mount Airy
19. New Bern
20. Newton
21. Oxford
22. Reidsville
23. Sparta
24. Tarboro
25. Washington

NC Main Street & Small Town Main Street Program - Designation Years
DAC program Acceptance Years
As of 2.5.2018

View the designated communities on a map.

NC Main Street is a Main Street America™ Coordinating Program.

As a Main Street America™ Coordinating Program, NC Main Street helps to lead a powerful, grassroots network consisting of over 40 Coordinating Programs and over 1,200 neighborhoods and communities across the country committed to creating high-quality places and to building stronger communities through preservation-based economic development.

National Trust for Historic Preservation,® Main Street® and Four-Point Approach® are registered trademarks of the National Trust for Historic Preservation.

end of section